A Confession

Dear Mother Nature,

I must confess. I have not once kept my promise of avoiding disposable bread wrappers. I am so, so sorry. Really I am.

Now, I knew it would be difficult over the holidays, especially when we were staying with family, but what I didn’t take into consideration was how difficult it would be before and after our trip. I also didn’t take into consideration how difficult it would be for my husband (who does most of the grocery shopping) to remember NOT to pick up store-bought bread.

The first time he came home with some, I got upset. “Oh we’ve started that?” he asked, ever so innocently.

“Yes, I mentioned that in my blog.”

“I didn’t know.”

“Um, I read the blog to you.”

So apparently that’s not enough. On take two of this experiment, we’re going to have to have some sort of ceremony to help him remember.

The second time he came home with store-bought bread I was both upset and relieved. After all, we were about to leave on our Christmas trip, and I wasn’t sure when I would have time to bake bread or how homemade bread would hold up on the trip. And if not bread, I wasn’t sure what we would eat on the road.

So we left for our trip with store-bought bread, ate all kinds of store-bought bread on the trip, and returned to (sigh) buy even more store-bought bread. I had to agree with my husband that with the kids scheduled to start school only a couple days after our return, and with those days being packed full of other obligations, store-bought bread only made sense.

The kicker, however, was that this month, even our homemade bread that we purchase from a friend came to us pre-wrapped. There really was no other way. See, my friend lives about an hour from us, but my dad and her parents both live in the same community (for now; her family is getting ready to move overseas). So often we meet up on a day when both of us are visiting our families, or she swings through my town on her way back from a family visit to do some shopping and drop of the bread. But this month was a challenge. We were out of town when she visited her parents, and because her car broke down, her visits were more infrequent than usual. Our only choice was for her to leave the bread in her parents’ freezer until I was in town and could pick up the loaves from them. Naturally, since they don’t have the bread freezing system that I spent six months figuring out for my own home, the bread had to be wrapped in disposable plastic bags.

Since we buy our bread for a month at a time, it looks like it will be February before I’m able to keep my promise to you, Mother Nature. Think of it as a Valentine’s gift. (I really do love you, you know!)

In the meantime, I’m going to have to see if any local bakeries will sell me unwrapped bread. After all, if I’ve learned anything this month, it’s that life can get in the way of the best of intentions.

Love,
Lori

About Lori Futcher

Freelance writer and copyeditor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

