Dry Bread

“No wonder Pa used his bread to sop up the liquids from his plate,” my husband commented during dinner last night.

We were only four days into our attempt to refrain from disposable bread wrappers, and we were already getting a taste of what life was like before modern conveniences. And the taste was dry.

To be honest, when my friend bagged up her homemade bread in the cloth bread bags my family sewed together, I knew I wasn’t quite ready to dispose of disposable wrappings quite yet, but I was hoping to figure out a solution to my final hurdle before the weekend was over. 

My final hurdle is this: I want to be able to freeze my bread so it lasts longer, but I don’t want to put it in disposable bags as that would undo the purpose of this project. 

When I first began researching solutions, I was excited to see that Tupperware sells a bread box that it advertises to be refrigerator and freezer safe. But while $15 per container isn’t a horrible price, I would really need four containers (since I typically buy four loaves at a time), and $60 is a bit more than we can squeeze out of the family budget right now. 

Figuring that all I needed was a sealable container of the right size, I headed to our church’s rummage sale in hopes of finding something. But everything was either too big (we don’t have a large freezer), too small, or too dirty. And though my husband spotted a Rubber Maid container at the grocery store that was just the right size for two loaves, the price was about the same (though it would have only cost me half as much since I would need two rather than four). 

When we noticed the bread starting to go stale, we decided something must be done–even if it meant using disposable bags (which we’ve now thrown one of the remaining loaves in).

Since my husband noticed that the cardboard container our oatmeal comes in is about the right size for a loaf of bread, I’m experimenting with that for one of the loaves. The loaf is already dry, so if we end up with freezer burn on top of that, the bread might just become dog food. But if it works, we’ll not only save ourselves a nice chunk of change, we’ll also be making good use of an item that would otherwise go in the recycling bin. 

If it doesn’t work, we’ll be looking for another solution. If you’re a tupperware consultant or have some storage containers you think might work, I’d be willing to make a trade. For one container, I’d be happy to give you some free publicity on this blog space, or for enough containers for four loaves, I’d be happy to arrange for a free photo session with Futcher Fotos.

Meanwhile, maybe I need to think of some liquidy meals that dry bread could be used for sopping up. 

About Lori Futcher

Freelance writer and copyeditor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

