Friendship at the Farmer’s Market

Photo by Angel Miller

Photo by Angel Miller

I didn’t really want to go to the farmer’s market. 

It was one of those days when my mood could best be described as “gray.” Despite how hard I was trying to be positive, negative thoughts kept bouncing through my head. After going on my weekly shopping trip with my sister, I had nothing left to spend at the farmer’s market. And though I was biting my tongue at half the things I wanted to say to my sister, I wasn’t biting it frequently enough. My gray mood was spreading to my sister and daughter. 

But I had made special arrangements so that I could go to the farmer’s market. A friend was picking my son up from school, and my sister and I had even changed our shopping day so that I’d have an opportunity to check the market out. So I swallowed my grayness and pulled up behind the Ooltewah Nursery, where a handful of farmers were set up with their produce. 

As soon as I got out of the car, I noticed one of those farmers was a friend I had been trying to contact. Forgetting my grayness, I called out her name and chatted for a bit. As we were talking, I heard my name being called out and turned to see another friend who had been on my mind. Half an hour later, I hadn’t moved past the first booth as friend after friend had grabbed my attention. 

When we finally moved through the booths, collecting information from each of the farmers for my list of local producers (which I’ll be posting here next week), I chatted briefly with several friendly folks. As we circled past the last booth, i noticed something. My sister, my daughter, and I were all smiling. The farmer’s market had lifted our emotional clouds.

I can’t wait to go again! Next time, hopefully with a little money to spend.

About Lori Futcher

Freelance writer and copyeditor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friendship at the Farmer’s Market

  1. Ooltewah Farmers Market says:

    What a wonderful insight into the Ooltewah Farmers Market experience. We have said that the market is more than just a place to shop for the highest quality local foods. The market is that, but it’s much more. It’s really about community….our community here in the Ooltewah/Collegedale area. At the market you can connect with friends and acquaintances you may not have seen in a while. You can meet new and interesting people. You can linger & chat and smile & laugh. At the market you can know the person who grew the food your family is eating. You become familiar again with local farms. You know the farmers’ names, and their children smile when they see you again. You see the market we are working hard to build is about much more than locally grown healthy foods alone. It’s also about relationship and community. It’s about being connected to people around us and the land that feeds us all.

    Thank you for sharing this blog. It was a pleasure to read. We are looking forward to the next installment. Next time you are at market, remember to stop at the OFM info table and say hello to Faith and Angel.

  2. Lori Futcher says:

    Faith and Angel, I certainly will come by to say hi to you. I hope to make it there every chance I get! By the way, I thought it was so neat how the caption for this photo on your page (https://www.facebook.com/OoltewahFarmersMarket?fref=ts) said, “The market is more than a place to shop for food. It a spot to linger and chat with friends, and to meet new people.” That is EXACTLY what was happening in this picture. In fact, this picture is one of the moments described in my blog above. There I am (in the wheelchair) next to one of my friend’s booths chatting with another friend. We had a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

